Dan Darby to Lead LIGHTFAIR® International

Dan Darby LIGHTFAIR InternationalInternational Market Centers (IMC) today announced the appointment of trade show industry veteran Dan Darby as senior vice president of LIGHTFAIR® International, the world’s largest annual architectural and commercial lighting trade show and conference. LIGHTFAIR International is staged in partnership by the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD), the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) and IMC, which serves as Managing Partner.

Darby, who joins the LFI team March 11, will lead exhibitor and sponsorship sales, show development and design, event production and Conference programming in collaboration with IMC marketing, digital, technology and operations teams. He brings to IMC and LFI more than three decades of experience in the trade show industry, most recently at Informa North America, where he was Vice President of Marketing, overseeing the centralized marketing services for its Infrastructure, Construction and Real Estate portfolio.

“Dan comes to LFI with extraordinary experience and expertise gained through an admirable career in high-profile trade shows and events. His work with AIA, Greenbuild, World of Concrete and other shows is well aligned with LIGHTFAIR’s expanding business base and growth trajectory,” notes Jo Ann Miller Marshall, IMC executive vice president, president of Trade Show Leasing.

“I’ve long admired LIGHTFAIR’s position as a global force in the lighting, design and technology sector,” notes Darby. “It is both an honor and a challenge to help advance the growth of a business that brings together top brands and thought leaders in an annual event of international reach and resonance,” Darby adds.

Darby is a graduate of the University of Georgia and is an active member of the International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE), serving as a member of the Southeast Chapter Board of Directors (2011-2018), chairman of the Southeast Chapter (2017), an IAEE CEM Faculty Member (2013-2017) and an IAEE National Education Committee Member (2018-2019). He is a 2018 IAEE Chapter Merit Award recipient.